Monday, August 29, 2011

Samsung Announces New Naming System For Its Galaxy Family Of Smartphones

Owing to the tremendous success of the Galaxy series of smartphones, Samsung Electronics recently announced a new naming system for its Samsung Galaxy family of smartphones. This new naming system will allow Samsung to categorize their phones using single letters called 'class indicators' and will be further sub-classified according to specific functionality.

The new naming system, along with a batch of new Android-powered Galaxy smartphones using the new classification system will be unveiled at the international consumer electronics fair to be held in Berlin next month, Internationale Funkausstellung (IFA 2011).
As Samsung continues to innovate, our goal is to provide consumers with an experience uniquely tailored to their needs. We have introduced steps to ensure users can simply identify the device designed to deliver the perfect experience for them
- J K Shin

The New Naming System,

The 5 major class indicators are as follows:
  • S (Super Smart) — The S class represents mobile devices that are at the peak of Samsung’s mobile portfolio. eg. Flagship devices link the Samsung Galaxy S and the Samsung Galaxy S II.
  • R (Royal/Refined) — The R class represents the premium-category models which possess balance of power, performance, and productivity.
  • W (Wonder) — High-quality and strategic models fall under the W class, perfect for those seeking balance between style and performance.
  • M (Magical) — The M class represents high-performance models at reasonable prices.
  • Y (Young) — The Y class models are for emerging markets, or for low priced devices targeting younger audiences.

The subcategories according to specific functionality for the above mentioned major class indicators are as follows:
  • Pro – This indicates that the device is built with a physical QWERTY keyboard, which is aimed to increase productivity for professionals.
  • Plus – This would indicate an upgraded version of an earlier model.
  • LTE – These devices are designed to utilize LTE (Long-Term Evolution) connectivity standards, a 4G standard to increase the device’s network capacity and speed.

Samsung’s new naming system for its smartphones, will make it easier for consumers to identify smartphones that meet their specific requirements.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disqus for TechGom

Android Telecom